Author Topic: so...I am new to painting flats...  (Read 4270 times)

Richard

Re: so...I am new to painting flats...
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2018, 10:46:38 AM »
Hello Redhussar

You can add too a second undercoat for the oil transparent paint with a close hint of the wanted color.
Richard 

RedHussar

• Associate
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2018, 10:58:34 AM »
thanks too all for the advice...it helps very much...be well...Michael

PJDeluhery

• Global Moderator
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2018, 10:10:45 AM »
I agree that its best to undercoat, and it should be an acrylic or medium other than oil-based if you are painting in oils. Once the acrylic dries, is cannot be be disturbed by over painting in oils.  Also, a good base will provide a surface for the oils to stick to - called "tooth." Paint is less likely to rub off.
Lastly, the color is a matter of taste. I prefer white because it allows colors to show bright by reflecting off the white undercoat. You can use gray or even black, as many others do. However, their work tends to be darker since less light is reflected by the undercoat - which might be fine for certain subjects, or if that's your style. Just keep the undercoat thin and let it dry overnight before you begin painting. Good Luck.
BFFS Member,
N. American Rep.
If the world is wrong; then right your own self...Brother Dave Gardner

fesak_j

• Associate
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2018, 05:33:17 AM »
I use andrea acrylic grey paint(could be matt citadell too). It gives perfect hard matt base coat which is good for using oil colours and it is dry in minutes. When using of enamel paints you need to wait couple of hours.  :) .....

errant49

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2018, 04:05:44 AM »
It is of course possible to paint on the bare metal if you use oil; many great painters as Douchkine, Leliepvre or Terana did so
But I feel that the brightness of tin makes the painting uneasy