Author Topic: Does intense cold affect metal soldiers?  (Read 1286 times)

jimrjim

• Associate
Re: Does intense cold affect metal soldiers?
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2019, 12:02:58 PM »
Thanks PJDelhury,[size=78%]It will be in coastal Maine so we both understand New England cold![/size][/font]

PJDeluhery

• Global Moderator
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2019, 11:26:12 AM »
I have always been advised to keep my collection at a steady room temperate of 68-72 degrees with controlled humidity. I think it's a bad idea to keep you valued collection in an unheated shed, but I admit I have no scientific knowledge to back up that opinion. But, why would you take a chance?
BFFS Member,
N. American Rep.
If the world is wrong; then right your own self...Brother Dave Gardner

jimrjim

• Associate
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2019, 11:01:04 AM »
Thank you, thank you. The responses are helpful and will lead me to new questions. I believe the Heinrichsens are 55% tin, 39-40% lead and 5% antimony (an element I only know through my study of the periodic table fifty years ago!)
If anyone has any direct experience do let me know.
Back out to the sub-freezing weather for now.

zinnmartina

• Associate
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2019, 09:22:19 AM »
My knowlege is that the tin figures can break more easy.

Important is the tin and pewter composition.
If they are painted with oil the colours they can lose structures, too.
About Heinrichsen in special it is difficult. If the figures before 1914 they have generally a very high tin percentage and are more flexible.I noticed that after WWI the percentage of pewter is higher - some are in really dark grey. Inoticed it when it did repaint some.About colours in the 19th century they did many time used spiritus colours without priming. the colours can easly fade away. My opinion best no presentation.After the WWI they did use "Lack" colours these are very strong.My extra tip for storage - do not use foam, Use paper or carton.

Christian